A+ A A-

Mukhtar Sahota Composes for 'Saka - The Martyrs of Nankana Sahib' Movie

Following Music Producer Mukhtar Sahota's single release, 'Ishq Yaar Da Lageya' featuring Baljit Wadali, Mukhtar Sahota now brings his unique sound for the forthcoming Punjabi film, 'Saka - The Martyrs of Nankana Sahib', releasing in cinemas worldwide 8th April 2016.

The film has been directed by Jagmeet Samundri and produced by Sukhbir Sandhar. Mukhtar Sahota has composed 3 songs for this film, from the composition to the music, mix and master presenting a grand sound for this historical, epic period film set in the 1920's.

Mukhtar Sahota's songs in Saka are 'Shaheed' featuring the vocals of Nachhatar Gill, 'Saka' the promotional track featuring the vocals of Kanth Kaler and 'Tappe', a female duet featuring the vocals of Shipra Goel & Sonia Sharma, lyrics have been penned by Harjinder Kang.

'Saka', meaning a peaceful protest is based on true events that took place in 1921 at Gurdwara Nankana Sahib, and the peaceful protest claimed the lives of 150 innocent people. Mahant Narayan Das managed Nankana Sahib in the early 20th century. He was corrupt and had the power of money and started using the Gurdwara's money for wrongful deeds and used the premises for immoral activities. On 20th February 1921, there was a peaceful protest against him to hand over Nankana Sahib back to the Sikh community. How Nankana Sahib was finally freed from the clutches of Mahant after this incident forms the crux of this tragic event.

The film cast is, Mukul Dev, Aman Dhaliwal, Oshin Brar, Dev Kharoud, Stass Klassen, Hardip Gill, Gurinder Makna, Mahanbir Bhullar, Bego Kaur, Bhavnoor Singh, Raj Bir Suryaavannshi, Pali Sandhu and Kristen.